November 13 :: The basics of InDesign!
November 13 :: Click Link for assignment >
November 13 :: The basics of InDesign!
Either in your backpack or the lock box!
C: Voice Level 2 (only the people next to you can hear you and no shouting across the room)
H: Ask your team, elbow partner or raise hand
A: Work on the assignment
M: Stay in your assigned seat
P: Work till assignment is completed
S: Finishing your work
HOME GAMES/EVENTS THIS WEEK!
(November 9-13)
Girls Soccer: 11/13 (FRI 3/3/5:30)
Check the schedules to see when you can take photos!
SEMESTER 2 Photos
Each student MUST select an event to take photos!
You will also be required to help with Team/Individual photo day!
UPCOMING EVENTS
V Boys Basketball (Winter)
JV Boys Basketball (Winter)
Frosh Boys Basketball (Winter)
V Girls Basketball (Winter)
JV Girls Basketball (Winter)
V Boys Soccer (Winter)
JV Boys Soccer (Winter)
V Girls Soccer (Winter)
JV Girls Soccer (Winter)
Boys Wrestling (Winter)
Girls Wrestling (Winter)
...
Boys & Girls Swimming (Spring)
Boys Tennis (Spring)
V Boys Volleyball (Spring)
JV Boys Volleyball (Spring)
Frosh Boys Volleyball (Spring)
Girls Lacrosse (Spring)
Track & Field (Spring)
...
Boys Golf (Spring)
Varsity Baseball (Spring)
JV Baseball (Spring)
Varsity Softball (Spring)
JV Softball (Spring)
Unified Basketball (Spring)
PTC (Spring)
Diversity Rally (Spring)
WHAT ARE WE LEARNING: InDesign and the yearbook!
WHY IS IT IMPORTANT: Adobe InDesign is the industry-leading layout and page design software for print and digital media. This desktop publishing software is popular among designers, artists, editors, and illustrators because it allows you to design, preflight, and publish a vast range of content for print, web, and mobile apps. We’re talking flyers, brochures, magazines, newspapers, books, and YEARBOOKS!
HOW WILL MY TEACHER KNOW WHAT I LEARNED: You will perform a series of lessons and we will create our yearbook!!
Adobe InDesign is a program best suited for designing and publishing layouts for magazines, newsletters, catalogs, postcards, brochures, and any multi-page document (like YEARBOOKS!) for print or digital delivery. In this tutorial, we will cover how to use the basic InDesign tools.
This will save the file to your YEARBOOK folder!
Open InDesign
Let's change a setting!
Before opening ANY document, click
EDIT>Preferences>File Handling
Select AUTO-ACTIVATE ADOBE FONTS
Click OK
Open your Yearbook folder...Double click the file: 2 page spread PRACTICE.indd!
It should open in InDesign!
You can also go to FILE>OPEN
Navigate to your yearbook folder!
Click on 2 page spread PRACTICE.indd!
It should open in InDesign!
Save to Creative Cloud!
Shortcut: Shift + Ctrl + S
(or File: SAVE AS)
Next to FILE NAME:
Your First Initial Last Initial BEGIN
Example: TE BEGIN
Click Save to Adobe Cloud Storage
Click YOUR FILES
Then click SAVE on the bottom right corner to save it to Creative Cloud!
If this pops up... click OK
This is telling us we have links to our document that are on our Hard Drive...this is OK
Now you should see a cloud icon and a suffix .inddc
The file should now auto save and will be save to Creative cloud.
Make sure you are on Essentials Classic!
Click the WINDOW tab...
WORKSPACE>ESSENTIALS CLASSIC
To see the entire spread, choose VIEW (tab on top)> FIT SPREAD IN WINDOW
NOTE the SHORTCUT!
The InDesign workspace includes features common to other Adobe softwares like Photoshop or Illustrator, such as the Tools Panel, Menu, and Properties Panel.
Menu Bar
The Menu bar contains File, Edit, Window and other menus. These menus allow you to find and apply more tools and techniques to your project should you need them.
The Windows Menu is especially helpful when you need help locating a specific Panel! Just click on this menu and select the Panel you’d like to bring up in your workspaces.
Opened File (Document Window)
After you create a new document or open an existing document in InDesign, it will appear in this area called the Document Window. If you have multiple files opened, each file appears as a tab in this Document Window.
Tools Panel
The Tools Panel contains tools used to create and modify objects on our project. To select a tool, simply click it. Tools with a triangle in the lower-right corner have additional tools hidden beneath them. To display hidden tools, click and hold a tool icon (or RIGHT CLICK it); a drop-down menu showing the hidden tools will appear.
Canvas (A Page)
The Canvas area displays the page(s) that will contain all text, shapes, and images to be saved and/or printed for your project.
Properties Panel
The Properties panel is a one-stop shop for additional tools that may be helpful as you work on your project. If there’s one panel to really get familiar with, it’s this one! This panel changes depending on the current tool or object you are selected on. When selected on just the canvas (page), this panel will give you the options to change your document size, margins, number of pages, and add rulers or guides.
Pages Panel
The Pages panel lets you manually add or remove pages from your project. This is where you can also edit the Parent Pages. Parent Pages are similar to templates, which allow you to add recurring elements (i.e. page numbers, headings, logo) on multiple pages without having to do so manually on each page. For large multi-paged documents, such as a book or magazine, this feature can save a lot of time and energy!
What are Parent Pages?
For page-heavy projects (like Yearbooks), Parent Pages are a crucial tool that saves designers time and energy!
Parent Pages allow you to essentially create a template with specific graphics and text that can be added easily to several pages within your project all at once. An example of these kinds of elements are page numbers, book titles, and chapter titles that appear within pages of many books or magazines.
Parent Pages are found at the top section of the Pages Panel, with a single page named “[None]” and two facing pages named “A-Parent “
Guides are vertical and horizontal lines that you can create and place individually. These are useful when you want more specific reference lines than those grid provides.
By default, Guides should be shown. If not, navigate to the Properties Panel and make sure the Guides icon in clicked.
To create a new Guide, click on the ruler on the top or side of the spread and Drag down into the document. A light-blue guide line will follow your cursor. As you drag, a small gray box to the right of your cursor will display the position of your guideline.
Guidelines can be moved to specific locations by selecting it first and changing the X or Y position from the Properties Panel
Once done, lock them to avoid accidentally moving them. To lock your guides, navigate to View > Grids & Guides > Lock Guides or click on the Lock Grids Icon from the Properties Panel
Preview Mode allows you to see your project without any of the guides. Guides (pink and blue borders) aren’t printed and are there rather to help you align your work within your document. You can go into “preview mode” by simply clicking “W” on your keyboard. Just make sure you aren’t in an active text box!
The Black Arrow (Selection Tool) is used to select and move (entire objects) everything around. Used to move objects to different locations on you page/spread! It also allows you to resize objects.
The White Arrow (Direct Selection Tool) is used to select what’s inside of a frame and move a picture around within its frame. Can be used to reposition a photograph inside its frame!
The Type tool is used to create a text box and add type to your page.
The Line tool is how to create a line.
The Add anchor point tool is used when editing the frame or a picture or shape.
The Pencil tool allows you to draw on your InDesign document with your mouse as if it’s a pencil.
The Rectangle frame tool is used to put a picture in your document.
The Rectangle tool is used to make a simple rectangle (or any other shape).
The Gradient tool is used to add a gradient to your object.
The Note tool allows you to select text and add a note to it that will hide when you want it to.
The Eyedropper tool allows you to match the color of a shape or line exactly to a color used somewhere else.
The Hand tool allows you to move around the document (up, down, or side to side) without zooming in or out. Press the Spacebar while on any tool (except when in a text frame)
The Zoom tool allows you to zoom in and out of a page, which can be done faster by pressing + or – while holding Control (Ctrl).
The Fill and stroke boxes control the color of your shape, and the outline around the shape, respectively.
TYPE TOOL (T)
To make a text box, select the Type tool, click on the point where you want the text box to start, and drag it out. Double-click inside the text box to begin typing.
TYPE ON A PATH
If you want your text to be in a curvy line, you first need to create the path. Select the Pencil tool and draw the path that you want to type on.
Right-click on the Type tool.
Click the Type on a Path tool.
Click on the beginning of the path until a small + shows up next to your cursor.
Type your text.
LINE TOOL
Select the Line tool, then click and drag to form your line.
You can edit your line in the Properties panel on the right
Add an Anchor Point Tool
You can adjust the shape of your object by moving around its anchor points, which are the white points that appear around it when you hover over it with the white mouse.
To change the shape of the object, select the White Mouse tool and click an anchor point. Drag the anchor point to move it around.
To add an anchor point, right-click the Pen tool and click the Add Anchor Point tool. Click the edge of the frame to add more anchor points.
If you want to get rid of an anchor point, right-click the Pen tool again and click the Delete Anchor Point tool instead. Click on the anchor point you want to delete.
Pencil Tool
Select the Pencil tool. Click and drag your mouse on your page as if you were controlling a real pencil.
You can see the individual anchor points by hovering over your shape with the White Mouse tool. Here, you can move the points around to perfect your shape.
Erase Tool
To erase parts of your drawing, right-click the Pencil tool and click the Erase tool.
Rectangle Frame Tool
Use the Rectangle Frame tool to put pictures on the page.
Select the Rectangle frame tool and click and drag your mouse to create the shape of your picture.
Click Import Image.
Double-click on the image file in your file browser.
If your picture got cut off, you can either drag the dots around the picture outward to expand the frame or you can fit the picture to its frame. In the Properties panel, click the Fill frame proportionally icon to fit the picture to the frame.
Right click on the Rectangle Frame Tool and Find the ELLIPSE FRAME TOOL...Try it.
I works the same but is round!
Enlarge and Shrink a Picture
To change the size of a picture, drag out the corners of the frame while holding Shift + Command/Control.
You can also change a picture’s size by changing the percent values for its height and width in the Properties panel.
Rectangle Tool
To create shapes, use the Rectangle tool.
Select the Rectangle tool in the toolbar and click and drag to create your shape.
To change the rectangle to a different shape, select the rectangle and navigate to Object > Convert Shape.
To join shapes together:
Select both shapes.
Navigate to Window > Object & Layout > Pathfinder.
Click the Combine button to combine the shapes.
Right click on the Rectangle Tool and Find the ELLIPSE TOOL...Try it.
I works the same but is round!
Gradient Tool
To apply a gradient to a shape:
Select the shape.
Select the Gradient tool.
Click the shape.
You can adjust the properties of the gradient, including the color, in the Properties panel.
Note Tool
Select the Note tool and click on the word you want to add a note to.
When you click outside the textbox, an orange spot appears on the part you highlighted to let you know there’s a note there. Double-click the spot to open the Notes panel. If you want to get rid of that note, click the Trash icon.
Eyedropper Tool
You can use the Eyedropper tool to pick up the exact color of something in a picture. Let’s say you want to make a circle the exact color of a Lakers jersey.
Select the Eyedropper tool.
Click the color you want to pick up. The color appears in the fill section of the toolbar.
Fill/Stroke Tool
This is how you change the color of your object.
The filled-in box controls the fill color and the thick border box controls the stroke color. Whichever one is on top is the one that is being affected by the changes you make.
Double-click whichever box you want to change and the color picker will come up. Pick the color and click OK.
KEYBOARD SHORTCUTS (for INDESIGN)
Shortcuts allow you to work faster by accessing tools and commands without navigating menus!
BASIC
(when NOT using the Text tool, simply press the letter on your keyboard)
W: turns grid on and off
V: black mouse (almost everything)
T: create a text box (or allow you to start typing in whatever text box the mouse is already hovering over, but that’s the same as double-clicking in that text box)
I: the eyedropper (to match the color of something perfectly)
H: allows you to scroll in any direction without using a mouse
Z: turns the mouse into a magnifying glass, so you can either click to zoom individual times or select a specific region to zoom into a lot more
+: when you’re using the white mouse to edit the frame of a picture, this adds pen points
-: when you’re using the white mouse to edit the frame of a picture, this subtracts pen points
CTRL SHORTCUTS
(Hold CTRL and press the letter on your keyboard)
CTRL+A: highlights everything
CTRL+R: shows/hides the rulers
CTRL+Y: brings up the text in a separate box
CTRL+I: spellcheck
CTRL+O: open a different file
CTRL+S: save file
CTRL+B: opens a box with the “ignore text wrap” option
CTRL+G: groups objects
CTRL++: zoom in
CTRL+-: zoom out
CTRL+0: zooms to fit the page perfectly (and holding down OPTION centers zooms to fit the whole spread perfectly)
CTRL+[: sends backwards
CTRL+]: sends forwards
CTRL+OPTION+C: forces a text box or picture to fit only around what’s in it (easy way to make sure the black lines around a picture match exactly where the picture ends, or to get rid of a red plus in a text box) — this can also be done by double clicking on the corner of the text box or picture frame
CTRL+SHIFT+G: ungroups
CTRL+SHIFT+[: sends something to the back
CTRL+SHIFT+]: sends something to the front
CTRL+SHIFT+>: increases the font size of whatever’s highlighted (literally just discovered this now!)
CTRL+SHIFT+<: decreases the font of whatever’s highlighted
CTRL+SHIFT+V: paste without formatting
CTRL+SHIFT+OPTION+V: paste in place
CTRL+SHIFT+dragging the corner of anything: makes the object bigger or smaller
Holding down shift allows you to select multiple objects at once, or if you want to select everything in one part of the page, start from a point where the mouse isn’t on anything moveable and drag it over everything you want to select. Holding down the option key while you drag something copies it.
Ctrl+Alt+Delete then select SIGN OFF!
Please place HEADPHONES on your Monitors!